Conference Venue

On May 29th, during the Gala dinner of the first Global Department Store Summit, the first 'Department Store Award' was presented.

We are very excited to announce that the winner of the Department Store Award - 2008 is

Bloomingdale's, USA

Bloomingdale's has been recognized by its peers, a panel of 53 department store CEOs, as the best department store in 2008 according to the five criteria described below.

Mr Paul Kelly, Chief Executive of Selfridges, handed over the Department Store Award to Mr Terry Lundgren, Chairman, President  & Chief Executive Officer of Macy’s Group, Holding company of Bloomingdale's.



Gala Dinner at Hyatt Regency, London

Prof Dr Helmut Merkel, President of IGDS

Ingmar Kraak (KSA) and Paul Kelly

Terry Lundgren and Ingmar Kraak


We would like also to congratulate the two shortlisted companies:  Central Department Store – Thailand and Woolworths – South Africa, for their outstanding performance in 2008.

The Department Store Award Process:

Selecting the award was a rigorous process based on the input of IGDS and IADS member company CEO´s, who each nominated the department store of their choice. The nomination criteria:

  • An enviable profile (clear store brand, differentiated positioning, powerful messaging and communicator)
  • Successful developments and executions of product, store and service innovation strategies (innovative extension of merchandise in its categories, development of the store formula and service offer)
  • Delivery of an extraordinary in-store experience
  • Offers of excellent customer service
  • Strong financial performance (sales and EBIT growth in 2007, a positive trend in results over the last 2 years and outlook for 2008)

A jury of four former department store CEO's – The Department Store Jury –, reviewed all responses to select a short list of three companies: Bloomingdale's, Central and Woolworths. These three finalists were asked to provide additional performance insights on the five award criteria to the jury, which analyzed the new documents and finally elected the Award Winner.

The Department Store Jury:
  • Arnold Aronson
: Former CEO of Saks 5th Avenue
  • Bjarne Mumm
: Former CEO of Ahlens
  • Dirk Goeminne
: Former Board Member of Maxeda and former CEO of V&D
  • Theo Henselijn
: Former CEO of De Bijenkorf

Kurt Salmon Associates, knowledge partner for the Department Store Award, coordinated the entire award process from the data collection to the nomination of the winner, ensuring the credibility and independence of the Award selection.


The Global Department Store Award 2008 is organized in collaboration with